Back to work…but just look at what we did this holiday!

4 Sep

I’ve blogged before about the fact that I don’t really have time to go to work…and here’s the proof! I kept a diary of everything we did this holiday because I knew that I wouldn’t be able to remember it all six weeks later! I’m in a great position, being a teacher, and I know to make the most of my time off (because I did have a “proper job” before I became a teacher 6 years ago!)

We broke up on Wednesday the 20th of July at 12.15pm and had a little “do” at the rugby club as there were a few people leaving for various reasons.

Week 0

Thurs 21st I had a hair cut and high lights and we went to Carluccios in Leeds for lunch. “We” being my mum and my brother. It was Evie’s last day in nursery for 6 weeks so I thought I’d make the most of it!
Fri 22nd We went shopping and bought new shoes for Evie
Sat 23rd Evie, Grandma and I  had a visit to Eureka Childrens’ Museum in Halifax and then we went to Pizza Hut for a  £5 deal and my brother joined us for lunch.
Sun 24th Evie, Grandma and I had a lovely day out at Yorkshire Sculpture Park.

Jaume Plensa Sculpture

Jaume Plensa Sculpture

Week 1

Mon 25th A visit to Red House Museum – considering we live so close I had not been here before. There were actvities on for children, which Evie was a bit too young for, but it was a nice visit anyway.
Tues 26th I took Evie swimming – we went on the bus and then walked home.
Wed 27th A visit to Dewsbury library – despite there  being a lovely story time on, Evie wouldn’t sit still for it…oh well…she had a nice time going on the bus and then walking to Grandma’s house for lunch!
Thurs 28th We went to Leeds and it was really sunny! There was a cardholder’s day for those having an M&S card in Leeds, so we went for a free glass of wine and to use our £5 voucher that they gave us (bought mini tart tins!)
Fri 29th I went to a spa in Baildon for afternoon tea and a swim with my friend Cathy
Sat 30th Evie and I saw the guides off on their week long Charnwood camp and then it was time for The Clandestine Cake Club, this time in Headingly.
Sun 31st My friend Greta and her mum, Mary came for lunch and then we went to the Yorkshire Day celebrations at Oakwell Hall

CCC July 2011

CCC July 2011

Week 2

Mon 1st Aug We visited the Guide camp in Leicestershire that we had waved off on Saturday.
Tues 2nd  More new shoes for Evie and lunch at frankies Castleford
Wed 3rd An Ikea breakfast and krispy kreme doughnut  treat for Evie and me
Thurs 4th We visited Charlotte’s ice cream at Whitley and had a play on the playground after our ice cream.
Fri 5th A runaround at Oakwell Hall and Daddy joined us too.
Sat 6th A lovely lunch at mum’s house
Sun 7th Last trip to Eureka with our year passes, followed by a visit to the art exhibition at Dean Clough art gallery, then a visit to our family friend, Dot and Charley.

Krispy Kreme

Krispy Kreme

Week 3

Mon 8th Tried out the new Trinity Walk shopping centre in Wakefield. We went on  the bus and ate at Pizza Express
Tues 9th Another trip on the bus to the swimming pool, we had a picnic afterwards and then a walk home.
Wed 10th An Ikea breakfast, followed by krispy kreme. Later on in the day we went to the library.
Thurs 11thEvie and I went to Leeds on a dayrover ticket. We visited Leeds museum and had a lovely day trip.
Fri 12th An “date” with OH. We ate at Brasserie 44 on The Calls – lovely meal and company.
Sat 13th Huddersfield Food Festival – great day in great company again.
Sun 14th to thurs 18th This was our “holiday”. We went to Scarborough and stayed with our friends Duane, Adele and Jessica in their hotel (check it out if you are thinking of staying over in Scarborough http://www.thekenton.com/)

Biggest Sandwich Ever!

Biggest Sandwich Ever!

Week 4 (what’s left of it)

Fri 19th Afternoon tea at dock st market with my mum
Sat 20th An amusing day at South Crosland and Netherton Gardeners’ Association’s Summer Show (Eviesgran and I were both prize winners for our baking!)
Sun 21st to Tues 23rd A few nights in London with my Mum, OH and Evie.

Busy in Pizza Express whilst in London

Busy in Pizza Express whilst in London

Week 5 (what’s left again!)

Wed 24th A walk into town and my brother came for lunch
Thurs 25th was GCSE results day so I went into school to see how we had done (very well actually). I had lunch with my colleague’s at a local pub and then picked up Grandma and we went to the White Rose Centre for a look around.
Fri 26th Evie and I met my friend for lunch – we went to Chiquito’s at Birstall and then had a look at shops.
Sat 27thVisited Kirkstall Abbey with Evie and stumbled upon their deli market. Later in the day we went to Dewsbury on Sea – Evie loved the sand.
Sun 28th Evie and I joined my friend Cathy and her husband, Alex for a “Real Ale Ramble” around Liversedge.

Another treat!

Another treat!

Week 6

Mon 29th A visit to the National Coal Mining Museum where there was a craft fair taking place.
Tues 30th Shopping at Crown Point
Wed 31st Went to Leeds with Greta for drinks and ate at La Tasca
Thurs 1st Sept had lunch at mum’s
Fri 2nd Sept Went to York on the train. Visited the Railway Museum, had lunch at the Slug and Lettuce overlooking the river and then looked at the shops.
Sat 3rd Sept Quick mooch around Cleckheaton farmers market, before meeting my friends at the Gray Ox iin Hartshead for lunch
Sun 4th Sept Visit to tropical world at Roundhay Park

York

York

Mon 5th Sept back to work – oh well, it was good whilst it lasted!

4 Responses to “Back to work…but just look at what we did this holiday!”

  1. eviesgran September 4, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    I have loved you being on holiday toon and had a great time. The question is, could we keep up that pace all the time if you didn’t have to go to work?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tracking our Summer Fun « bakingaitch - July 22, 2012

    […] a note of everything that I did every day and blogged about it. You can read last year’s blog here. Busy in Pizza Express whilst in […]

  2. Summer with the Mortons | bakingaitch - July 22, 2014

    […] Three summers ago (before we ever had an inkling about Isaac) Evie and I did something every single day of the summer holidays. We were super busy! I blogged about it after the summer in 2011. […]

Leave a comment