Summer with the Mortons

22 Jul

Our mission for the next six weeks is to do as much as we can and have as much fun as possible without spending the earth!

Chilling in the garden.

Chilling in the garden.

Filthy, pretty and ready for the summer.

Filthy, pretty and ready for the summer.

I’m known to be frugal, but don’t get me wrong! I am not tight with money, I just like to make sure it goes as far as possible and then, when I want to splash out, I can afford it and enjoy it.

Three summers ago (before we ever had an inkling about Isaac) Evie and I did something every single day of the summer holidays. We were super busy! I blogged about it after the summer in 2011.

Last year I had just had the year off after maternity leave and the summer before I was 8 months pregnant and knew I was about to have the year off, so although we had great summers, I didn’t feel like we had to fill every second.

This year, after a year back at work and a year of Evie at school, I really intend to have a great summer filled with lots of activities that both children will enjoy.

We have started it off with a shopping trip last Saturday after Evie’s swimming lesson (we intended going to Oakwell Hall for jazz in the garden but it rained incessantly all day), on Sunday we went swimming before Grandma babysat the children and I went to Leeds with the hubby (who had just run Leeds 10k) and friends for a few beers in the afternoon, and today we have been bike riding (and loom band hunting) at Oakwell Hall.

Rod about to run his first 10k. He did it in 58 minutes.

Rod about to run his first 10k. He did it in 58 minutes.

An hour at Oakwell Hall. Isaac wanted to ride Evie's bike and Evie wanted to look for loombands!

An hour at Oakwell Hall. Isaac wanted to ride Evie’s bike and Evie wanted to look for loombands!

For the rest of the time we will be taking part in all the free activities that Kirklees provide in the holidays such as crafts in the museums, stories in the parks and the summer reading challenge and other activities at the libraries. We will take the train to Leeds to visit Leeds museum, we will undoubtedly have a day or two in York and visit the railway museum, and maybe a trip to the seaside.

We are so excited to be on holiday for six weeks and we will fill it with fun…watch this space!

Leave a Reply

