Archive | 7:18 pm

Project 366: day 278

4 Oct

School library book.

image

Remembering last time…Evie’s birth story.

4 Oct

I’m typing this birth story at 2 days overdue with my second baby. I’m not bothered that I’ve passed my due date – I’d have been shocked if I’d had the baby early or even on time. With Evie I went 15 days past the due date that I was given on my dating scan and I resigned myself from the start that the same would happen this time!

I finished work at about 36 weeks and started waiting…and waiting…and waiting! Obviously, with your first you have no way of knowing when you might have the baby. Everyone you meet is so knowing and told me that first babies are never early! A load of rubbish! Some first babies are overdue their date and some come very early! Anyway, I was determined to prove them all wrong and have the baby at least on time! It was not to be!

I have been reminded over the last few weeks about how so many people, both ones you know and strangers, almost wish you to be fed up and uncomfortable…I was neither (and aren’t this time either!) If only I had a pound for everyone who’s said something on the lines of “Aren’t you uncomfortable now?” or “I bet you’re fed up now” looking smug and almost hoping you are! It’s really bizarre! I was of course really wondering whether I was going to be mummy to a girl or a boy and what or who the baby would look like, but I wasn’t going up the walls or anything!

42 weeks pregnant - check out my fat face!!

42 weeks pregnant – check out my fat face!!

So, my due date came and went (17th February), as did many more days. The midwife gave me a sweep at about 7 days over, which I regret as it was a horrible experience which, whilst I don’t think that for a minute I was forced to do it, I don’t think I was correctly informed about it. It was sold to me almost as “This is what you have done to get you started after 7 days” rather than “You can have it done, but it’s not very successful with first babies”. I left the midwife feeling almost violated and vowed I’d never have that done again!

I was booked to be induced on the 3rd of March at 3pm. That morning I rang up to check there was a bed for me (there was) and then I went to Ikea for my breakfast! I couldn’t just sit around at home waiting for 3 o’clock. My partner took me into hospital and stayed with me until he had to go to work. I was monitorred for a couple of hours and then the hormone pessary was applied at about 5pm.

The monitors did show that there was a tightening in my abdomen quite quickly, but I was not feeling much. My mum, who was going to be there at the birth, visited me in the evening and then at 8pm had to go as visiting time was over. I’d been told that I would be given another dose of the hormone at 6am and then at 6pm and to just seen how I went on, so I wasn’t really expecting much to happen at this point.

At 9pm I was quite uncomfortable, but didn’t really think I was in labour! The nurse suggested that I have a bath, so I did, and I remember getting out and seeing stars and wondering how long it would be before anyone missed me if I had have passed out!

About half an hour later I was sick, but I just got back in bed and laid there moaning quietly. I was in pain, but knew that things would get more painful so just got over it really! The woman in the bed next to me was carrying on and saying how she couldn’t stand the pain and needed an epidural! The midwife was checking her and I heard her say “You’re not even 1cm yet, you can’t have anything yet!”  I thought that if she was in pain like that, that I wasn’t anywhere near having a baby either as I was coping.

I must have been groaning quietly to myself, as the midwife put her heard round and asked if I was ok. She said she’d come back to check me as I might need some pain relief. I said I didn’t want any yet as if things were going to get worse, then I could cope at the moment. She said I could have a couple of paracetamol, which made me smile as sometimes they don’t even touch a headache, let alone labour pains!

So I was checked, and told I was 4cm dilated and could go to delivery! No wonder it was hurting! I was being far too brave! I rang my mum and told her to come back and went off to delivery. I was about 10pm. It just goes to show how different people have different pain thresholds.

I had Evie at 2.22am on the 4th of March, 15 days overdue. I didn’t get my paracetamols and just used gas and air. I do remember quite clearly thinking to myself that it was really hurting, but that it was just a case of mind over matter and that this baby had to come out. And with every last stinging push, if I just pushed that little bit harder then it was a little bit closer to being over.

Just born

Just born

All would have been fine, if my little monkey hadn’t been born with her hand on her face – little elbows cause a lot of damage it would seem! Whilst I can’t really remember what labour pains feel like (although I’m told you soon do once they start again!) I can completely remember the doctor who must have been called out of bed to stitch me up rubbing the sleep out of his eyes and asking me to be lifted up higher on the bed as he stitched. This was probably the worst experience of my life, but I’ve got over that too – after a week I was loads better and after two I could get rid of the cushion I was having to sit on!

This time I’m quite nervous about just going into labour on my own – I just can’t imagine what it would be like. I had no timing between contractions, or wondering if I should go to hospital or not as I was there for the whole of my labour. I packed my bag leisurely and went to the hospital when I was ready. The hormones worked quickly for me and I had the baby quickly once I’d been set off. And the hospital was really quiet so I had plenty of attention and really good care.

So to all those people almost hoping I’m climbing the walls this time – I’m not! I’ll quite happily sit here for another 10 days and go in to have the baby when I’m booked in! I’ve not quite been finished work for 3 weeks yet, so am enjoying the time off with my daughter for the last time before she has a new brother or sister. I’m really excited to meet my new wriggler baby who I have felt like I have got to know a bit more over the last few weeks now I have more time to enjoy being pregnant, but I’m in no rush for this (probably my last) pregnancy to end.

Hands on face!

Hands on face!

Little girl awake

Little girl awake

New family

New family