Siblings

24 Jul

IMG_5330I remember being small with my little brother. We used to play together…sometimes more nicely than others. He is three years younger than me and I remember visiting him in hospital on my third birthday when he was one day old. My mum pulled back the covers on the cot so I could see his tiny toes. To be honest I think I was more impressed with the birthday present of a dolls house that was waiting for me when I got home.

Who are these two?

Who are these two?

As we grew up we had our moments of playing nicely and fighting, but when I realised he was growing bigger than me we stopped fighting and became firm friends. As we grew into teenagers I would take him places, or he visited me at university, and now in our thirties we spend time together with the rest of the family and with my kids.IMG_5193 IMG_5192 IMG_5191

My children have a 3 and a half year gap between them…when Evie heard that Isaac had been born and he was a boy (rather than the sister she hoped for) she cried!IMG_5444 IMG_5446

She soon got over it and was excited to be a big sister. He was mainly ignored for the first few months of his life, but then he started wanting the things that she had, grabbing for her toys and taking attention from her just slightly!IMG_5462

Over the last few months I have seen lovely moments with them together. I still repeat at least 5 times a day, “No! Don’t try to pick him up! He doesn’t like it!” and they still both want the same toy or want to play different games at the same time. But, then, just for a few moments they are friends, and it is lovely and I hope that they always stay friends over the years.IMG_5459 IMG_5460 IMG_5461

One Response to “Siblings”

  1. Cybele July 24, 2014 at 8:00 am #

    My two are now 15 (girl) and 12 (boy). The 15yo finds the 12yo mostly annoying and childish, the 12yo looks up to the 15yo and misses her when she’s not there. But then suddenly they’ll have a spell of ‘bonding’ and spend an evening watching YouTube videos together and giggling madly. I have a younger brother who I’ve not seen for more than 12 years, through his choice, and I do miss that shared connection. I hope my two will grow up like you and your brother have.

Leave a Reply

