Rainbows and Butterflies Birthday Cake using Renshaw Ready to Roll Icing

23 Jul
Rainbows and butterflies

Rainbows and butterflies

I love baking, but I am not artistic.

I can be creative, but I usually need to follow a pattern.

I have decorated birthday cakes in the past for my two children and I have been quite impressed with myself with the results.

But I do like a challenge and Renshawbaking.com keep challenging me! And I have to keep taking up the challenge! So here is my latest effort at icing a birthday cake!IMG_5252

I searched for inspiration on Pinterest and decided I needed rainbow colours. I intended making a rainbow of spots, but then I came across my butterfly cutter and I put together two of my 5 year old daughters favourite things…rainbows and butterflies!

I hope you like it! I would like to think that anyone could make it and impress other people. The colours are so vibrant and happy I defy anyone not to smile and be cheered by the design.

Renshaw Ready to Roll Icing and Marzipan

Renshaw Ready to Roll Icing and Marzipan

I made a fruit cake (recipe below) and covered it in mazipan and white ready to roll icing both from Renshaw. I then used a butterfly cutter to make the butterfly shapes in red, orange, yellow, green, blue and purple and arranged them close together for the purple and then more spread out to create the effect of them fluttering away I hope.

The pictures tell the story.

Fruit cake turned upside down so I had a nice flat top to ice

Fruit cake turned upside down so I had a nice flat top to ice

I stuck the marzipan to the cake with apricot jam, mixed with a bit of hot water, microwaved to get it hot and then sieved before painting on the cake before the marzipan is rolled out and placed on.

I stuck the marzipan to the cake with apricot jam, mixed with a bit of hot water, microwaved to get it hot and then sieved before painting on the cake before the marzipan is rolled out and placed on.

White icing rolled quite thinly and stuck to the marzipan with cooled, boiled water

White icing rolled quite thinly and stuck to the marzipan with cooled, boiled water

The butterflies are flying away across the cake

The butterflies are flying away across the cake

IMG_5246

Just add candles!

Dust the icing sugar off with a dry paintbrush when the icing has dried for a view hours.

Dust the icing sugar off with a dry paintbrush when the icing has dried for a view hours.

Inside the fruit cake

Inside the fruit cake

 

The icing was sent to me for free and I was asked to write this blogpost to show a birthday cake. The ideas, words and pictures are all my own.

Leave a Reply

