Healthy Heart Chicken and Leek Casserole for Valentine’s Day with Waitrose

13 Feb

Over the last few years, my household has changed! We have now got two children to share our love with and my husband has changed his eating habits drammatically to lose 6 stone in the last year!

Of course, this means that Valentines Day has changed for us too!

Waitrose contacted me and asked if I would like to road test one of their “Healthy Heart” recipes. They have created a Healthy Heart Valentine’s Day hub on the Waitrose website that explains which foods are good for your heart health (and why) and suggests some ways to serve these up. I jumped at the chance.

I searched through their recipes and decided that I would take inspiration from their “LOVE life Healthy chicken casserole” as this was a family meal we could all enjoy and it fit in with my husband’s healthy eating.

I don’t usually shop at Waitrose as it is not my local supermarket, but it was well worth the 12 mile journey as the supermarket had a great selection of top quality products and I enjoyed having a wander around, looking at the slightly different brands to the ones I am used to.

Ingredients from Waitrose for a Healthy Heart

Ingredients from Waitrose for a Healthy Heart

A few bargains, the carrots are included in the recipe.

A few bargains, the carrots are included in the recipe.

I decided to add a few more vegetables to the recipe as my children will eat vegetables much better if they are cooked in the sauce of the casserole or stew and used some store cupboard ingredients too. I included some small Chantenay carrots that I found on the reduced shelf as I’m sure you know I love a bargain!!

Ready to serve

Ready to serve

Here is my recipe for Healthy Chicken and Leek Casserole which generously fed my family of two adults and two children.

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon of olive oil

6 Waitrose Skinless and Boneless Chicken Thighs

2 leeks, sliced

2 medium carrots, peeled and diced or about 15 small chantenay carrots, trimmed and halved if large

1 stick of celery, diced

1 tin of Epicure mixed beans, drained

1 chicken stock cube

1 teaspoon of dried thyme

Veggies prepped

Veggies prepped

Method:

  1. Heat the oil in a casserole dish you can use on the hob or a pan with a lid. Brown the chicken on all sides on a medium heat. Remove the chicken to a plate.

    Soften the veggies

    Soften the veggies

  2. Add the vegetables and soften for 5 – 10 minutes over a medium heat. Add the beans then cover with water before adding the stock cube and thyme and returning the chicken to the pan.

    Return the chicken to the pan

    Return the chicken to the pan

  3. Cover with the lid and cook over a low heat for about 20 minutes until the chicken is cooked through.
  4. Serve with new potatoes and green beans if desired.
Healthy Chicken and Leek Casserole with New Potatoes and Green Beans
Healthy Chicken and Leek Casserole with New Potatoes and Green Beans

I also picked up a little treat for us for when the kids are in bed on Valentines Day!

A treat for Mummy!

A treat for Mummy!

Waitrose asked me to roadtest a recipe from their website and sent me a voucher to buy the ingredients. The words, opinions and picures and the recipe I have posted are all my own.

Leave a Reply

