Slow Cooker Chicken, Leek and Bacon Casserole

2 Oct
Chicken, leek and bacon casserole

Chicken, leek and bacon casserole

After being back at work for a whole month now I am convinced that I do not have time to go to work!

I’ve not blogged for that whole time. I’ve not had any inspiration and my precious time has been taken up doing other things such as making crocheted baby blankets and going to bed by 10 so that I can get up at 5.45am and function as a mainly normal human being!

Somehow during this time I’ve moved up to number 81 in the foodies 100 which is a nice surprise to me! I’m not sure how the ranking is worked out but I’m not complaining!!

So I’m having a go again today with a recipe that I put together that takes very little time to put together but gives maximum flavour and is great for the whole family.

As always with the recipes I used veggies that I had in my fridge and added plenty carrots as both the kids will eat them out of casseroles, the creme fraiche was added as we had half a tub left from a recipe at the weekend but would be equally nice without it, chicken breast fillets are on a special half price at the Co-op and I had half a packet of bacon open in the fridge that needed eating!

Slow Cooker Chicken, Leek and Bacon Casserole (serves 2 adults and 2 kids generously)

Ingredients:

3-4 rashers of bacon, cut into small pieces

400g chicken breast fillets, cut into bite sized chunks

1 onion, sliced

2 leeks, sliced

3 carrots, peeled and chopped

2 sticks of celery chopped

1 chicken stock cube

1 tsp dried thyme

200g creme fraiche (optional)

Methods:

  1. Fill and boil the kettle.
  2. Fry the bacon in a non-stick frying pan until it gives up some oil and the bacon browns a bit. Put in the slow cooker. Brown the chicken in the bacon juices then add to the slow cooker.
  3. Pour some water from the kettle into the frying pan to remove the browned stuck on bits then pour this into the slow cooker onto the meat.
  4. Add all the rest of the ingredients except for the creme fraiche and the rest of the kettle of water and cook on high for 4 hours or low for 8 hours.
  5. Half an hour before the end of cooking time stir in the creme fraiche.
  6. Serve hot.
Ingredients going into the slow cooker

Ingredients going into the slow cooker

2 Responses to “Slow Cooker Chicken, Leek and Bacon Casserole”

  1. millieweb2 October 2, 2013 at 9:15 am #

    Glad you are blogging again, missed you! This looks delicious, just right for Autumn.
    Millie x

  2. Live Yama May 12, 2015 at 7:28 am #

    I have chicken, bacon and leeks in the fridge and was looking for inspiration so this is perfect, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

