Apricot dessert sauce.

5 Jun

image

I couldn’t resist buying a punnet of beautiful golden apricots when I spotted them at the weekend.

I decided to make a simple sauce with them which is delicious with yogurt or ice cream.

Ingredients:

500g fresh apricots, stoned and chopped into 8 pieces
Half a vanilla pod, seeds scraped out
2 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp water

Method:

Put all ingredients into a saucepan and cook with stirring over a low to medium heat until the apricots soften. Pour into a bowl to cool and chill the sauce until needed.

Serve with natural yogurt or ice cream.

I’m thinking of using the sauce in the bottom of one of my steamed puddings too so that when it is turned out, the fruit will run over the pudding!

image

5 Responses to “Apricot dessert sauce.”

  1. millieweb2 June 5, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

    Sounds wonderful but too much for me! Of course I could make a smaller amount but I like batches, so I can freeze some!
    Have you tried freezing it? Wonder if it would work?
    Millie x

    • bakingaitch June 5, 2013 at 2:50 pm #

      I haven’t tried freezing it but see no reason why it wouldn’t.

  2. Karen June 5, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

    I’m going to see if I can make this, this weekend! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Meal Planning Monday (10.06.13) | bakingaitch - June 10, 2013

    […] I did mange to post one blog for a recipe for a delicious apricot dessert sauce, which is great on ice cream or yogurt and was lovely in my newest breakfast discovery, […]

Leave a Reply

