Blog every day in May: Bad Advice

28 May

Blog Every Day in May badge

When my daughter was about 4 months old she decided that she wouldn’t drink milk from a bottle. She had been breastfed up to this point but had been given breastmilk in a bottle from being quite small.

I was supposed to be returning to work. I couldn’t leave her if she wouldn’t have milk from a bottle!

I rang the health visitor, I went to breast feeding support groups. No one knew what to do. I had had so much advice and encouragement to get me breastfeeding, but no-one had a clue what to do now.

The worst piece advice that I got at this time was from a midwife at the local baby cafe (breastfeeding support). She said that I should just leave her and when she was hungry enough and thirsty enough she would drink the milk!

I was horrified! I would not leave an adult without food or water all day and yet she was advocating that I left a 4 month old baby hungry and thirsty! Not to mention my poor mother who would have to cope with this distressed child.

Needless to say, I didn’t return to work at that time. At six months old, she just decided that she would take the milk from the bottle again…she’s always been a monkey!

4 Responses to “Blog every day in May: Bad Advice”

  1. Hilary May 28, 2013 at 6:20 am #

    Helen I had the same with my daughter who wouldn’t ever drink from a bottle! It was me or nothing.From 5 months old.she was given milk on a teaspoon in desperation but what she drank from after a couple of weeks of that was a toddler beaker and then never looked back! The beaker had five holes for milk to come through and we had to close two with a hot needle as the milk came through too quickly for her.Then hey presto it was always a cup. Aren’t they funny with their little ways.

    • bakingaitch May 28, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

      I think my son might be like this. He’s not keen on the bottle and drinks little sips like he does from a cup. I expect he might go onto milk in a cup like your daughter.

  2. Cybèle May 28, 2013 at 6:34 am #

    Interesting Helen, I had the same with my now 11yo, he hadn’t really taken to a bottle by the time I went back to work when he was about 3 or 4 months old. I had no option but to return to work and left plenty of expressed milk. It was one of the hottest days of the year, apparently he refused to drink till 4pm, then gulped down a large bottle in quick time and promptly fell into an exhausted sleep. When I got home a few hours later, desperate to feed him, he was not particularly hungry 😉 He was fine with a bottle after that though.

    • bakingaitch May 28, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

      It’s amazing how they have opinions and preferences when they are so young!

Leave a Reply

