Blog every day in May: 13 year old You!

22 May

Blog Every Day in May badge

Goodness me! What would I say to a thirteen year old me?! That’s a tricky one!

I was never off the rails or even a slightly naughty teenager so I couldn’t give advice about this kind of thing.

I suppose that after yesterday’s blog about my dream job, I would tell myself to find out what I would like to do for a career. As I said, I never knew what I wanted to do, so I would tell myself to find out about every career that I possibly could and decide what on earth that I wanted to do.

Whilst I’m quite happy with the career that I have got right now, I could have saved myself years in other jobs and I doubt that I would have ended up a teacher.

I wonder what I might have done…I did say that I realised in later years that I might have liked to be a chef…I wonder if I would have owned a restaurant by now…or been a celebrity chef on TV…

One Response to “Blog every day in May: 13 year old You!”

  1. Hilary May 22, 2013 at 8:06 am #

    It’s one of those conundrums of life, which job should you do. I’m a (just)retired teacher but teaching was all I ever wanted to do from being a small child. I didn’t manage it till I was 38 for a variety of reasons but I’m so glad I finally made it. After bringing up my own children it has been the most rewarding job. That moment when a child finally GETS something is brilliant. I worked in banks (office work and not my thing!) then childminding and play group leader you could see where I was going. I feel for youngsters today who are not sure what they want to do and also have difficulty finding any job.

Leave a Reply

