Blog every day in May: Travel Dreams

10 May

Blog Every Day in May badge

I have a slight obsession with a place I have been to 5 times and it’s a place that I can’t imagine I’ll be going to again for quite a long time.

This place is Las Vegas. I would go back in a breath! I love it.

The Paris Hotel

The Paris Hotel

I’m not a gambler at all. I will play the slot machines but that’s it. But there is so much more to Las Vegas than the gambling. There’s the food, the shows, the contrast of The Strip and Fremont Street, the heat of the desert, the shopping and the excitement. I love that everyone is on holiday and having fun, the sun is shining and the place is constantly changing.

MGM lion

MGM lion

The first time I went was 12 years ago. I was going for the first time to get married in Vegas! We took our close family and friends and had a great time. I went a second time with my husband and then we thought we’d been enough.

Cocktails at The Wynn

Cocktails at The Wynn

My mum and dad also love Vegas and they returned too. Listening to them talking about it made us excited again and we decided to have another trip.

Venetian Hotel

Venetian Hotel

Not long after this we ended up getting divorced. This was nothing to do with the fact that we got married in Vegas by the way!!!

The famous Fremont Street

The famous Fremont Street

Once I had finished my teacher training course, I decided that we needed a holiday. We booked a trip to New York and Las Vegas. Rod was absolutely blown away by New York, I loved it too, but I couldn’t wait to get to Vegas. Rod had a good time in Vegas, but he didn’t understand my enthusiasm – his jaw still hadn’t closed from his awe of New York.

I'd just got off the plane, gone to the hotel and straight to Margaritaville for a Corona

I’d just got off the plane, gone to the hotel and straight to Margaritaville for a Corona

And my final visit was with one of my friends in the summer before I got pregnant with Evie. It was another great trip. I drank too much, ate too much and really embraced the holiday fun atmosphere of the place. It was fabulous! The photos are from this trip (2007) and I look slightly tired and slightly drunk in all of them…I would have been to be fair!

Sat outside the Flamingo...the rest of the evening is a bit blurry too!

Sat outside the Flamingo…the rest of the evening is a bit blurry too!

And my next trip will be when the kids are grown up. I can live with that. I have the photos, the memories and I can still get excited about the place when I talk about it or see it on TV.

The famous Caesars Palace

The famous Caesars Palace

Our next travel dream is to take them to Florida when they are both at the right age to remember the trip, but young enough to be in awe of the fact that Mickey Mouse is shaking their hand.

2 Responses to “Blog every day in May: Travel Dreams”

  1. Kitty May 10, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

    See I want to go to Vegas!

  2. Hazel May 11, 2013 at 8:03 am #

    I think Vegas is a place everyone should experience at least once. I’d love to go. I really enjoyed New York, that’s certainly on my list to revisit.

Leave a Reply

