Blog every day in May: Favourite Social Media Channel

9 May

Blog Every Day in May badge

I’m going to have to say Twitter for this one!

Only 2 years ago I had no idea about Twitter. I’d heard of it, but never joined in. I didn’t understand about it.

I don’t think you can “get” Twitter until you take part in it; I know many of my friends smile and not when I mention it as if I’m talking about a mad uncle. It’s not surprising that they don’t understand, I think it is bizarre that I feel that I know people from the things that they say in 140 characters or less, when I often don’t even know where the person lives, what they look like and even their real name.

I have my morning Tweeters, there’s the ones which Tweet on their way to work, on their lunch break, on an evening and more recently for me, the ones up in the middle of the night breastfeeding their babies (a.k.a. #zombiemoms).

Twitter has opened up a whole different world for me. I’ve got more into crafting for pleasure and to sell, I’ve started blogging and I’ve made new friends in real life.

I am the kind of Tweeter that tells my followers what I want them to know. I don’t tell the whole story, but I am honest and I do mean what I say. I am still slightly stunned by the car crash nature of some Tweeters who I just can’t look away from, and slightly saddened by the lonely Tweeters who tell every aspect of their life as they have no-one else to tell. I do think that sometimes these types of people forget that others are “listening” and treat it how they might treat a diary, telling their secrets to.

Twitter has kept me company this year whilst I have been on maternity leave. I do have family and friends in real life to talk to, but sometimes, when you’re feeding a grumpy new baby in the dead of night, you don’t feel quite so alone.

2 Responses to “Blog every day in May: Favourite Social Media Channel”

  1. Helen Quarmby May 9, 2013 at 6:33 am #

    Morning Helen. Enjoying your blogs especially this one. Remember the lonely night feeding hours all too well. Not sure I would have been able to keep my eyes open long enough to tweet though! Lol.

  2. Alice (@mumsmakelists) May 9, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    I’m an at the bus stop tweeter 🙂

Leave a Reply

