Sardine and Fennel Salad

1 May

I get all sorts of lovely veg in my veg box every fortnight, some are very ordinary and run of the mill and some are more difficult to use. Fennel is one of them. I’ve made a Fennel and Cheese soup before and the recipe is here.

I was inspired by a recipe from Abel and Cole which came in the box, but as with all my recipes, I change it to fit the ingredients I have in the fridge.

This is really simple and tasty.

Sardine and fennel salad

Sardine and fennel salad

Sardine and Fennel Salad (serves 2)

Ingredients:

Small bag of salad leaves

Quarter of a fennel bulb, shaved with a potato peeler

Handful of olives

Tin of sardines in tomato sauce

Squeeze of lemon juice

4 tablespoons of yogurt

Method:

Split the salad, fennel and olives between 2 dishes. Share the sardines between the dishes and reserve the tomato sauce. Mix the tomato sauce with the lemon and the yogurt and dress the salad with the sauce.

And that’s it! Simple!

2 Responses to “Sardine and Fennel Salad”

  1. elliebee42 May 1, 2013 at 6:17 am #

    Mmm that looks lovely! I’ve always had a soft spot for fennel 🙂 Xx

  2. jessiebearwhat May 1, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

    Yuuuum. Not usually my favorite ingredients, but this sounds really good right now!

Leave a Reply

