Hey Mummy! I’m nearly six months old now!

27 Mar

Everyone tells you as a child that time flies when you get old. You never believe them! It takes ages to get to Christmas or your birthday or the summer holidays and anyway, old people don’t know more than you do!!!

But here I am, again saying that I don’t know how time could have flown so fast since October when I gave birth to my handsome little boy and that was 24 weeks ago! Really! 24 weeks! Nearly 6 months! And that deserves a lot of exclamation marks.

And so here he is! A real little star.

New baby

New baby

My little boy. Isaac David. We called him this because we liked the name Isaac and because David was my dad’s name, and we liked it of course. Isaac really suits him as it literally means “he laughs” and he’s a real chuckler and we knew we’d given him the right middle name as he looked, and still does at times, like my dad. He came into the world a week late, but quite quickly once he decided to move.

Hi folks - I'm cheeky!

Hi folks – I’m cheeky!

His little life since that date in October has gone so fast for me and he has amazed me every day.

Shouting at his toys

Shouting at his toys

He is bright and cheeky and he is so interested in his surroundings. His eyes follow his big sister around everywhere, partly because she is always charging around doing something so interesting to watch, but partly because if you’re Isaac you’ve got to keep an eye on her because you never know when you might get smothered in big sister kisses or squeezed just a bit too tightly for your liking! He started flinching away from her at a very young age, much to our amusement.

Brother and sister

Brother and sister

Cheeky chappy, cheeky girl

Cheeky chappy, cheeky girl

His cheeky personality is bursting out of him. He loves to please you and smile for you and chat back to you. Yes really, my boy has talked (i.e. made cute baby gurgly noises) since he was really tiny and he does it when you talk to him. He chats to you with fabulous punctuation and gusto and loves the reaction you give to him.

Little smiler

Little smiler

Ready to go

Ready to go

He is a chilled boy, as long as he gets his milk. But just lately he is far too nosey to be drinking milk when there are so many distractions like noises, his sister or other people. So, I’ll be feeding him discreetly and he throws his head backwards to get a better look and exposes me to anyone near by!

Cute boy

Cute boy

The only thing he really objects to is the bath. He doesn’t go mad or anything, but he does look at me warily and kicks a bit when I lean him back to wash his hair. It’s not really any complaining on his part, just more of a “I’m not really sure about this mummy”.

How I greet my mummy on a morning

How I greet my mummy on a morning

And we’re coming to the time to wean. I have waited until he is 6 months old, but I get the feeling that he’ll take to food without any problem. He already watched every mouthful we take and grabs for our food and I can’t remember his sister doing this at all. I’m sure she didn’t infact. But I think that we’re going to have some fun trying different foods and getting on with this weaning lark in 2 weeks…watch this space!

Chunky monkey legs

Chunky monkey legs

6 Responses to “Hey Mummy! I’m nearly six months old now!”

  1. little poppits March 27, 2013 at 9:27 am #

    Awww sooo cute. X

  2. Victoria March 27, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    What a beautiful, happy baby boy!

  3. Lizzy (Good Things) March 29, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    He’s a precious little cutie! Treasure these times… he’ll be 30 before you know it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Friday Baby Shower - #8 - Home Keeping Basics - April 14, 2013

    […] lovely post from Baking Aitch celebrating Isaac’s first 6 […]

Leave a Reply

