Oxtail Stew – cheap, tasty and easy.

12 Feb
Oxtail stew

Oxtail stew

I bought some oxtail when it was reduced because it was on it’s last useby day at the supermarket a while ago and put it in the freezer. I didn’t know whether I was going to put it into soup or stew then and to be honest, I didn’t know what it would end up as when I started to cook it!

I couldn’t decide whether to blast it in the pressure cooker or put it in the slow cooker all day at first, but was glad I went for the slow cooker as I couldn’t be bothered listening to the hiss of the pressure cooker for an hour and the meat was so tender cooked in the slow cooker.

I used the vegetables that I had in the fridge, but I don’t think that it would matter what veggies you put in as long as there was an onion and some stock. I didn’t even add any herbs or a splash of worcester sauce as I usually would and it didn’t need it. It was lovely to just taste the meat and the veg. I cut the veg into such small pieces so that Evie could eat it easily without having to cut it up, you can cut the veg any size you like!

Oxtail Stew (serves 4)

Ingredients:

600g oxtail (it was 3 pieces of various sizes)

2 onions, sliced

2 carrots, peeled and cut into 1cm dice

1 parsnip, peeled and cut into 1cm dice

2 sticks celery, cut in half long ways and then into small pieces

2 beef stock cubes or other beef stock

Method:

  1. Heat a frying pan until it is really hot and then brown the pieces of oxtail on every side. This adds a nice flavour to the stew, but if you don’t have time it isn’t crucial.
  2. Add all the other ingredients to the slow cooker along with the meat and a kettle full of boiling water.
  3. Cook for 5 hours on high power or all day on low power (put it on in the morning before work and come home to a delicious stew) If you don’t want to use a slow cooker I would cook in a lidded pot in the oven for at least 3 hours or in the pressure cooker for an hour.
  4. Whatever method you use for the cooking, when it is done, remove the meat and carefully pull the meat from the bones, discarding any fat or nasty bits. Put the meat back in the stew, stir and serve.
Leave a Reply

