Why we should all do a first aid course.

27 Jan

Last night, at about 9.30, my other half was shovelling down his tea sat on the sofa, having drunk a few (and by a few I mean quite a few) beers. He was eating a steak (and by a steak I mean half a cow) with chips.

He suddenly started making funny noises as if he couldn’t catch his breath, I looked at him and couldn’t work out what was wrong. Then it dawned on me…he was choking!

It must have happened really quickly but it was one of those “time-slowing-down” situations.

I took his plate off him and asked him if he was choking. He nodded and turned his back on me and I put my arms around him and squeezed really hard somewhere between his chest and his belly 2 or 3 times.

He started to walk away and I was running after him smacking him on his back and asking if he was ok. He was speaking now and saying that he was ok, so I figured if he was speaking he was breathing.

I think I might have been holding my breath myself and I didn’t realise how frightened I was until I was shaking afterwards and felt close to tears. He must have been worried by the look on my face because he kept saying he was ok now.

Anyway, as I shook it off, he sat back down and carried on eating, although he did pause to say “Thank you for saving my life just now!”

I have done a few first aid courses in my time, through work and Girl Guiding, but have never had to use any of it. It was frightening to have to do the Heimlich Manouevre, and I’m not sure that I had the right technique, but it did the trick and that’s all that matters.

Make sure you know how to too!

5 Responses to “Why we should all do a first aid course.”

  1. Jo aka Kiwijo January 27, 2013 at 9:33 am #

    Wow, how scary that must have been for you both! Its certainly worth doing a course or two, as you say, you never know when you will need it.

  2. Margaret January 27, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    Well done, must have been quite frightening. Hope he’s ok now. i like the fact that he carried on eating afterwards, that what my husband woul do!

  3. @craftyguider January 27, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

    How scary. I know what you mean about lack of technique in an emergency. Enough comes back to you at the right time though.

  4. Cybèle January 29, 2013 at 10:08 am #

    typical man to carry on eating! 😉 Glad he’s okay, it is frightening isn’t it. My brother choked on a piece of pear once when we were growing up. My dad, who’s a GP, slapped him firmly on the back and the piece came flying out. I can’t have been very old but I remember it quite well as being quite frightening!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Best of the Foodie Blogs: Ten at Ten (53) | Foodies 100 - January 30, 2013

    […] situation to be in. Which is why I feel for Helen from BakingAitch, who makes a very good case for why we should all do a first aid course. Hope your hubby is ok now […]

Leave a Reply

