Bake with Stork

25 Jan
Stork "Easy to mix" Baking Liquid

Stork “Easy to mix” Baking Liquid

Just before Christmas, I made a comment on Twitter about Stork Baking Liquid and Stork asked if I would like to try some of their products. I always have a tub of Stork margarine in my fridge as I think that it makes the best scones, but had never tried the baking liquid.

I have waited to write this blog as I wanted to try the products out a few times and see what they were really like. So here are some things that I made.

The Stork Baking Liquid can be measured by volume or weight

The Stork Baking Liquid can be measured by volume or weight

We had been sent a recipe card with all the margarine and baking liquid so I used that as a basis for the buns that I made. We now add dried fruit to the list of things my daughter won’t eat, so we just made plain buns, using the baking liquid, rather than adding mincemeat, and adding a splash of milk. I am usually a die-hard “cream the butter and the sugar, then the eggs, then the flour” kind of baker, but I thought I’d chuck it all in and mix as the recipe suggested. It is easier for my little one to do this anyway.

All ingredients in together

All ingredients in together

Nice and easy to mix together

Nice and easy to mix together

Lick the bowl...? Who? Me?

Lick the bowl…? Who? Me?

The mixture mixed together really well, due to the runnyness of the baking liquid which I used straight from the fridge, there were no lumps left like if the butter or margarine is too cold and won’t mix in. When baked the buns were light and tasty.

Our buns made with Stork baking liquid

Our buns made with Stork baking liquid

The recipe card suggested using the baking liquid for the butter-icing too so I thought I’d have a go – it worked beautifully! I used 55g of Stork Baking Liquid and 225g of icing sugar and a splash of food colouring. I will definitely make icing with the baking liquid again – it piped beautifully onto the buns.

Mini-baker icing the buns

Mini-baker icing the buns

Christmas baking

Christmas baking

I used the tub of margarine to make my steamed Christmas pudding in place of butter and the pudding was beautiful, but for some reason I didn’t take a picture I’m afraid.

We used baking liquid to make Daddy’s birthday cake, using the all in one method and the cake was awesome and beautifully decorated like only a 3 year old girl can!

Twinkle, twinkle chocolate star

Twinkle, twinkle chocolate star

Lovely, light, demollished cake

Lovely, light, demollished cake

Heres the recipe I used to make the Star shaped chocolate cake. You could also make it in an 18cm round cake tin.

Ingredients:

50g Stork Baking Liquid

50g sugar

2 eggs

50g self-raising flour

20g cocoa powder

splash of milk

100g bar milk chocolate, melted

chocolate sweets to decorate

Method:

  1. Put the baking liquid, sugar,, eggs, flour, cocoa powder and milk into a mixing bowl and mix well with a wooden spoon.
  2. Pour mixture into a greased cake tin and bake for 15-20 minutes at 160fan (180C) until done.
  3. Turn onto a wire rack and allow to cool.
  4. When cool, spread the melted chocolate on top and decorate with the sweets.
My cake - Eccles Cake

My cake – Eccles Cake

Inside my Eccles cake

Inside my Eccles cake

I most recently used Stork Baking Liquid to make this “Eccles Cake” for the Clandestine Cake Club in Spen Valley. Again, another beautiful cake.

If you would like to find out more about baking with Stork products, there is loads of information on their website.

I had the Stork products sent to me for free, but the words and the opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

