What shall I do with kale?

19 Jan

This was the question I posed to Twitter last week and I got plenty of answers.

I always get whatever is sent in the veg box (I don’t make any changes) and I then have the challenge of cooking everything and making sure none goes to waste as I think that it is quite expensive and a bit of a luxury, expecially as I am on maternity leave at the moment.

Here are the suggestions I got:

Cybèle de Jong@CybeledeJong “kale – the Dutchest food you can get 😉 (mashed up with potatoes – we eat everything with mashed potatoes and gravy)”

” recipe in English: http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=202341 …

Alison Sheppard@okayalison “colcannon 🙂 http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colcannon

Kat Goldin@katgold “roast it with olive oil. yum yum”

doesmybumlook40 @doesmybumlook40 “pan fried with garlic, chorizo & macadamia nuts. Serve with aioli.”

Hannah@han_cat “BBC good food have one with kale and ginger pork, v nice.”

margaret @maogden “You can use it in soups, stir fries, salads. Or use it like cabbage”

MoorsInn@MoorsInn “dry fry or fry in very little olive oil with plenty of thinly sliced garlic #tastyvitamins

Alison Merrick@AlisonMerrick “I am trying this tonight. Will let you know how out turns out 😉  http://via.me/-8o2edl0

So, after Meal Planning Monday this week, this is what I made:

Boerenkool Stamppot (Kale Hash) Recommended by Cybèle de Jong

Kale - Dutch Style

Kale – Dutch Style

I adapted the recipe (and reduced the quantities)

500g potatoes, peeled, boiled and mashed

200g kale, stalks cut out and shredded then steamed for 15 minutes

1 onion, chopped fried in a little oil with 2 rashers of smoked bacon.

Mash all of the above together with a little butter and serve with Mattieson’s smoked sausage for a Dutch treat!

Steamed Kale

Simply removed stems and shredded and steamed for 15 minutes for an iron filled accompaniment to any meal. I had it with Boston Baked Beans.

Kale with garlic, chilli and rosemary Recommended by Alison Merrick

Kale, with garlic, chilli and rosemary.

Kale, with garlic, chilli and rosemary.

Gently soften 1 chopped onion in a little olive oil in a lidded frying pan, lid off. Add 1 chopped or crushed clove of garlic, 2 sprigs of rosemary and a shake of chilli flakes (to taste). Add the shredded kale (stalks removed) and stir. Add lid and lower heat until the kale wilts. Romove the rosemary twig before serving as a side dish (I had it with turkey meatloaf).

And that was the bag of kale finished! I quite enjoyed having it 3 days in a row as it was very different each time.

3 Responses to “What shall I do with kale?”

  1. Craftyguider January 19, 2013 at 7:18 am #

    I always got kale in my veg box and never knew what to do with it. Those were pre-twitter days!

  2. 'Becca February 20, 2014 at 7:20 pm #

    Here are my many ways to use kale. I originally got it through a farm box, too, and didn’t know what to do with it…but now I like it so much, I make sure we always have some in the house!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Meal Planning Monday (22.01.13) « bakingaitch - January 21, 2013

    […] to Friday we stuck to the plan well. You can read about the what I did with the kale here. On Saturday, I didn’t make the pasta. Instead, I had taken some Boston baked beans out of […]

Leave a Reply

