Improv Challenge January 2013 – Bananas and Nutmeg

17 Jan
Bananas and nutmeg

Bananas and nutmeg

I really wanted to join in with this challenge after having a month or two off. Kristen from Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker hosts this challenge every month. She sets us off with two ingredients and you can make any recipe that you choose. You then link up!

The problem that I had is that I really don’t like cooked bananas in things like banana bread or muffins, so I was wondering what to do. I decided in the end to not cook the bananas at all and to just make a simple breakfast of porridge flavoured with honey, bananas and nutmeg.

The recipe: Porridge with honey, bananas and nutmeg.

A warming porridge breakfast

A warming porridge breakfast

Ingredients (for 2 portions):

1 cup porridge oats

1 cup milk

1 cup water

4 teaspoons (or to taste) honey

grating of nutmeg

1 banana, sliced

Method:

  1. In a small pan, mix together the oats, milk and water. Heat, stirring all the time, until the mixture boils. Reduce the heat and simmer for 3 minutes.
  2. Pour into 2 bowls. Add 2 teaspoons (or to taste) of honey to each bowl, a grating of nutmeg and share the sliced banana.
  3. Serve hot.
Porridge with honey, banana and nutmeg

Porridge with honey, banana and nutmeg

If you fancy taking part then sign up to receive emails here.



11 Responses to “Improv Challenge January 2013 – Bananas and Nutmeg”

  1. Kristen January 17, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

    The nice thing about the Improv is you can do anything you like with your two ingredients. I love that you simply cut the bananas and served them on top!

  2. Jo aka Kiwijo January 17, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

    How about caramelised bananas in the m/wave (with brown sugar) and then nutmeg on top?

  3. thatskinnychickcanbake January 17, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    So simple and yummy! And here I thought everyone would make banana bread like I did 🙂

  4. msginge January 17, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

    You are the exact opposite of me. I can’t stand raw bananas but don’t mind if they have been cooked in baked goods. Your oatmeal sounds like a great way to start the morning!

  5. Camilla @Fabfood4all January 17, 2013 at 10:33 pm #

    Ooh Iove porridge and if the kids are off school tomorrow I will make this!

  6. Deanna Segrave-Daly (@tspbasil) January 19, 2013 at 12:02 am #

    This is so simple yet so satisfying. I’m always just doing a plain oatmeal and this is the perfect way to jazz it up – I think my 5 year old will like it too!

  7. Lynn January 19, 2013 at 3:19 am #

    Oh! I see you’re using whole nutmeg. How does that keep? I grind my own cloves with a mortar & pestle, because I think the taste is stronger/better but I’ve never tried whole nutmeg.

    • bakingaitch January 19, 2013 at 7:54 am #

      I think ground nutmeg loses its flavour really quickly but whole ones last years.

  8. Lisa~~ January 20, 2013 at 2:24 am #

    A delicious way to work around your dislike of cooked bananas.

    My Improv Cooking Challenge entry this month: Baked Bananas, hope that you’ll stop over and check the recipe out…even though you don’t care for cooked bananas 😉

    Lisa~~

  9. Amber January 20, 2013 at 4:18 am #

    What a fantastic idea for the Improv Challenge. Your porridge with honey, bananas and nutmeg looks absolutely amazing! Yummmm!

Leave a Reply

