Left over roast chicken broth with veggies

8 Jan
Chicken and vegetable broth with thyme

Chicken and vegetable broth with thyme

I had a left-over roast chicken carcus in my fridge yesterday morning with the best part of a breast remaining. I knew that I wouldn’t eat the chicken, so I decided to make soup in the slow cooker.

I used the vegetables and herbs that I had in my fridge; you could do similar with the contents of your fridge, I would have definitely added celery if I’d had any,and if you have no fresh herbs, just use dried! I added a chicken stock cube, but you could add a veg one if that’s what you’ve got or none at all as the chicken bones help to make the stock anyway. Really, anything goes!

I put the slow cooker on at 8am on high power and the soup was ready by 11.30. It really wouldn’t matter if you left it on low all day though or indeed put it in a saucepan on the hob.

So, here is what I did!

  1. Put the chicken carcus in the slow cooker and squash it a bit to break it up.
  2. Cover with boiling water and put the slow cooker on high. I added a Knorr chicken stock pot “cube”.
  3. Peel and chop an onion, a carrot and a turnip into 1cm dice. Add the leaves from a few sprigs of thyme.
  4. Cook for 3 and a half hours on high power.
  5. After this time, carefully pick out the chicken bones and break up any chicken meat into bite size pieces.
  6. Reheat if necessary.
2 Responses to “Left over roast chicken broth with veggies”

  1. Fay Jessop January 8, 2013 at 10:09 am #

    Yum! Going to try this with my leftover chicken from Sunday – looks likt it’ll make a lovely lunch for the rest of the week 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

