Spicy parsnip soup

3 Jan

I decided that I needed to make parsnip soup because I have a big bag of parsnips left from my Christmas veg box. I always make a point of using up all the veg from my veg box as I think that it is quite expensive and a bit of a luxury and hate wasting food.

I put out a tweet asking for ideas for favourite parsnips soups and got responses from a few folk.

I decided to go with Janice Pattie’s recommendation for Spicy Parsnip Soup from her blog in 2008. She was a bit embarrassed about the photos from this early blog, but the recipe was great…here’s my version that I made in the slow cooker. I didn’t fry the onions first (but you could if you wanted to) and so I used no oil or butter. I had some fresh ginger so I used that rather than ground ginger and I used milk rather than cream to make it lighter in flavour and calories.

Serves 6-8.

Spicy Parsnip Soup

Spicy Parsnip Soup

Ingredients:

2 onions, peeled and chopped

5 medium sized parsnips, peeled and chopped

2 cloves of garlic, peeled and finely chopped up or crushed

a thumb sized piece of fresh ginger, peeled and finely grated

1 teaspoon of cumin seeds, crushed or 2 level tsps of cumin powder

2 level tsps of garam masala

2 vegetable stock cubes

a kettle full of hot water

200ml milk (optional)

Method:

1. Put all the ingredients, except for the milk, in the slow cooker.

2. Cook on low power for 8 hours (although a couple of hours more or less would make no difference really).

3.Blend with a hand blender until smooth.

4. Add the milk if using and reheat if necessary.

The soup turned out to be lovely: warming and spicy for this cold January weather. It is also rather good for you which is excellent when we tend to be cutting back after the excesses of December!

One Response to “Spicy parsnip soup”

  1. Ang. January 3, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    downloading now will let you know how it goes

Leave a Reply

