Isaac’s Birth Story

24 Nov
On my due date

On my due date

Throughout my pregnancy I was convinced that I would go two weeks past my due date and be induced, just as I was when I had my daughter. So, imagine my surprise when I got out of bed on Tuesday, the 9th of October at 7am, 7 days past my due date, and felt a trickle of liquid down my leg!

It crossed my mind that my waters might have broken, but with it being such a small amount of liquid, I wasn’t sure.

At 8.30am I rang the hospital for advice. I was told that waters breaking could indeed be a trickle and that I should monitor it and ring them back in an hour or so to let them know what was going on. At 10am I tried to ring again, but I couldn’t get through. I had midwife appointment at 11am anyway, as I’d decided to have a stretch and sweep, so I thought I’d just go to that instead.

I parked at the supermarket next to the doctors and walked up town to the post office. As I was stood in the queue, a man was trying to sell me broadband. I was obviously itching to leave to get to my appointment and you should have seen his face when I told him that I really needed to go as thought I was going into labour!

I walked back down to the doctors and went into my appointment. I was explaining to the midwife that I thought my waters had broken and I’d also had a show by this point, when I felt a gush of water and knew, that there was no doubt that my waters had definitely gone now! The midwife said that this had never happened in all the time she’d done the job of community midwife. It was handy that it happened like it did as, I didn’t need to go to the hospital to be checked, this midwife could take my blood pressure and check the baby’s heart beat and she called the hospital to let them know what was happening.

I was told that my labour might start naturally now or that I could go to the hospital to be induced straight away. I thought that I’d wait to see what happened. If nothing had happened within 24 hours I would have to go to be induced anyway.

I went home; luckily I was wearing black trousers and I sat on a carrier bag to drive home! My mum had previously picked up Evie to occupy her for a while whilst I went to the appointment, but I hadn’t told her that my waters could have broken as I didn’t want her to worry. She was just arriving back at my house as I did, so I told her what had happened. She was the one going to hospital with me, so as you can imagine, she was excited!

My mum took Evie to school for me at about 12 o’clock and no contractions had started at this point. By 1pm I was feeling some mild pain. We sat and chatted until it was time to pick up Evie from school. By the time that they returned at 3.45, I had got my bag sorted and told her that I needed to go to hospital as the pains were coming every 5 minutes and were quite intense.

We live really close to the hospital so I was there by 4pm. I went straight to the delivery suite and the gas and air was set up. I was checked and was 2-3 cm dilated. I sat on a gym ball and the pains were happening just the same as before. I decided to stand up and the pains got more frequent. At about 5pm, the midwife asked my mum to time how long between contractions and how long they were lasting. After about 20 minutes they were coming every 2 minutes and lasting 30 seconds. I had to climb on the bed as I thought that my legs might buckle with the pain. I was breathing the gas and air as I felt a contraction start to come and it definitely took the edge off.

At 6pm the midwife must have seen a change in me as she went to get an apron and gloves on. She said that I’d start to feel the contractions around my back more and that I wouldn’t be able to help but push. This feeling came really quickly and my body took over. I was really lucid during the whole experience and although I was in real pain, between contractions I could talk normally and felt ok.

With my first push I felt the baby come really low. With the second push, the head came out. And with the third push, his body followed. He was put on my tummy and it was a boy!!! What a shock! Isaac David was born at 18.18 and weighed 8lb 6.5 oz.

Just born

Just born

And that was it!!! So quick and, as I said straight after having him, so easy! I don’t mean to sound like I’m boasting about this – that’s just the way it was!

Mother and baby doing fine

Mother and baby doing fine

The placenta came out without the injection – I didn’t want to have any drugs after going through the whole birth with nothing, not even a paracetamol, just gas and air. And I got away with no stitches which was a relief after having so many with Evie.

I stayed in hospital in the same room that I had him in until Isaac had his checks after 6 hours. My brother came to pick us up. I was home at 2am and made cheese on toast for everyone! I really couldn’t believe how well I felt!

Six weeks old

Six weeks old

And now, 6 weeks on, Isaac is thriving and gaining weight at a rate of notts. His big sister is thrilled with him too and smothers him with love and kisses in a way that only a 3 year old can.

Big sister love

Big sister love

9 Responses to “Isaac’s Birth Story”

  1. Bibi @ Veggie Runners November 24, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    What an inspirational story! Sometimes I get scared reading birth stories, but this was so positive and lovely. Well done you, and best of luck to your beautiful family.

    • bakingaitch November 24, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

      Thank you for your comment. People are usually so quick to share their trauma so I wanted to share my positive story.

  2. Bonebabe November 24, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your story – there need to be more like it out there so mums-to-be are reassured that it’s nothing to be scared of, just a natural and necessary part of meeting your baby!

    • bakingaitch November 24, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

      Thank you for your comment. I was apprehensive about going into labour on my own after being induced the first time, but it turned out that my waters breaking was just the warning I needed.

  3. Corinne November 24, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    This really is a wonderful birth story! My 2nd and 3rd were also straight forward and I think it’s great for people to know it’s not always awful (especially after a difficult first birth). Congratulations on your beautiful baby boy’s safe arrival!

    • bakingaitch November 24, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      Thank you very much. It was a really wonderful experience.

  4. knitnrun4sanity November 25, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    Congratulations – sounds just perfect. It took me to my third to manage a fairly easy birth – that time there was no time for even gas and air once I had alerted the staff. (Started off with emergency C-section with my first). It is good to put positive birth stories out there.

  5. Sarah MumofThree World March 1, 2013 at 9:40 am #

    What a lovely story – and very quick! Hope your little family is continuing to thrive.
    Found your story on Oldies but Goodies.

  6. Suzanne March 3, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

    What an amazing birth story – so quick and seemingly easy! Lovely little boy 🙂 Thanks for linking up to Oldies but Goodies this month x

Leave a Reply

