Sweet Potato and Honey Scones – Improv Challenge November 2012

15 Nov

I’ve had a few months off the Improv Challenge. I’ve got a good excuse though – I’ve had a baby!

Sweet potatoes

Sweet potatoes

This month’s two ingredients that I had to work with were sweet potato and honey. I have to be honest, I’m not a great fan of sweet potato, but I had got a couple in my Abel and Cole veg box so I thought I’d give it a whirl!

Kristen of “Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker” hosts the “Improv Challenge” every month.

Beautiful colour of the mashed flesh

Beautiful colour of the mashed flesh

And my recipe? Well here it is! A bit unusual, but can be eaten just buttered as a sweet scone, perhaps with a further trickle of honey, or they are also delicious with savoury fillings such as cheese or ham. The potato was lovely baked in this way – I think I could be converted.

The scones do not taste too strongly of sweet potato, or honey, but instead are subtley sweet and really light due to the moisture in the sweet potato evaporating during the cooking and allowing them to rise.

Sweet Potato and Honey Scones

Ingredients:

1 large sweet potato, about 300g raw weight

400g self raising flour

pinch of salt

1 heaped tsp baking powder

120g margarine (I used Stork)

3-4 tbsp runny honey

1 egg

enough milk to make a soft, but not wet, dough

Method:

1. Bake the potato in its skin at 180C for about an hour or until really soft. Let the potato cool before scooping out all the flesh from the middle into a bowl and leaving to go completely cold.

2. Sieve the flour, salt and baking powder together into a large mixing bowl. Rub the margarine into the flour mixture.

3. Mix the honey into the cooled sweet potato and then add the egg and mix in well too.

4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and gently mix together. Add enough milk to make a soft, but not wet, dough. Knead lightly for a few seconds to make a nice ball of dough.

5. On a floured sruface, roll out the dough to about 2.5cm (1 inch) thick. Cut out the scones using a 7cm (2.5 inch) cutter and place on a greased baking tray or use parchment paper instead of the grease. Reroll the dough until you have used it all up. Brush the tops with a little milk

Lovely soft dough just rolled out

Lovely soft dough just rolled out

Cut out and ready for the oven

Cut out and ready for the oven

6. Bake at 180C fan (200C conventional oven) for 20-25 minutes until golden.

7. Cool on a wire rack.

Straight from the oven

Straight from the oven

Split the light scone and add topping of your choice

Split the light scone and add topping of your choice

Simply buttered

Simply buttered



12 Responses to “Sweet Potato and Honey Scones – Improv Challenge November 2012”

  1. Robyn November 15, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

    Scones! I made scones for the last ICC. I froze a few and have been eating on them this week. I have grown to love scones!

    Your recipe looks yummy. I have tired to make muffins/quick bread with sweet potatoes and the hubby was not a fan. I may have to make a batch of your scones for myself!

    • bakingaitch November 15, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

      My partner pulled a face at the sweet potato in the scones and then took a couple to work with him…a hit! Thank you for your comment!

  2. Melody♪♫ November 16, 2012 at 12:47 am #

    Your scones look beautiful! I can see how light they baked. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm — sure wish I had a couple for breakfast (with whipped cream…) with my coffee!

    • bakingaitch November 16, 2012 at 3:20 am #

      Thank you for your comment, they did rise really well!

  3. Lisa~~ November 16, 2012 at 2:38 am #

    Your scones look perfect, I would adore a few of these…yum.

    My sweet potato & honey recipe: Sweet Potato Glass Noodles with Honey Garlic Lime Shrimp.

  4. cookwithsara November 16, 2012 at 4:25 am #

    These look really delicious. I love how sweet potatoes just add wonderful moistness to baked goods without making them taste too “sweet potatoey.” 🙂

    • bakingaitch November 16, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      That’s true. The moisture just made the scones really light.

  5. dena @ohyoucook November 16, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    Your scones look delicious!

  6. Kristen November 17, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    Congratulations on your baby and welcome back! I love the scones, especially the pretty shape you cut them.

    • bakingaitch November 17, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      Thank you very much. It’s been a bit hectic but it’s great to be taking part again!

Leave a Reply

