Popular Crafts Magazine – Strawberry Swap

26 Sep
Strawberry!

Strawberry!

I’ve made a few craft swaps through Popular Crafts Magazine over the last few months, including Spring Swap, Union Jack Swap, Heart Swap and Owl Swap. I had a month of for the Polka Dot Swap as I was just too busy, but thought I’d make a “comeback” for the Strawberry Swap for August and September.

I was very lucky to be paired up with Aimee – read her blog here. I had an idea in my mind of what I wanted to make and had a little search for strawberry printed fabric. I just couldn’t find what I wanted. I decided to change my plans a bit from that point. I had recently made myself a very simple, but very big pin cushion as I really wasn’t sure why I was struggling along with the tiny one I had! I decided that I would try to make my own strawberry motif to add to Aimee’s pin cushion and buy her a gift of some pins which I hoped she would find useful.

This is how I made the strawberry:

Step 1 - cut out a strawberry shape pattern from paper, pin to red felt and cut out

Step 1 – cut out a strawberry shape pattern from paper, pin to red felt and cut out

Step 2 - embroider little "v" stitches onto the felt in black to represent seeds. Pin to backing fabric and sew on in running stitch

Step 2 – embroider little “v” stitches onto the felt in black to represent seeds. Pin to backing fabric and sew on in running stitch

Step 3 - cut a stalk shaped pattern in paper and then in green felt

Step 3 – cut a stalk shaped pattern in paper and then in green felt

Step 4 - Sew onto the strawberry and backing material with big green stitches

Step 4 – Sew onto the strawberry and backing material with big green stitches

Sewn into a pin cushion

Sewn into a pin cushion

I was really pleased with the design that I made and decided to add it to a little make-up bag too to complete the gift.

Strawberry make-up bag

Strawberry make-up bag

The make-up bag was lined with a floral coordinating fabric

The make-up bag was lined with a floral coordinating fabric

The completed gift just before I posted it to Aimee

The completed gift just before I posted it to Aimee

In return, I could not have received a more thoughtful and perfect gift! Aimee had found the fabric that I had been looking for! It was made into a baby changing mat and little matching bag to hold nappies and wipes. This could not have been better as I am due to have a baby in only 6 days from today!!! Along with a pretty wooden heart, I was thrilled with the gift.

The bag and back of the changin mat

The bag and back of the changin mat

Strawberry changing mat

Strawberry changing mat

Pretty wooden heart

Pretty wooden heart

Thank you Aimee!!!

2 Responses to “Popular Crafts Magazine – Strawberry Swap”

  1. Marie October 5, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    I hope you don’t mind, I linked to your post on my blog. http://gertieleigh.blogspot.co.uk/2012/10/blogtoberfest-2-popular-craft.html

    Marie x

    • bakingaitch October 5, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

      I don’t mind. You made a lovely gift!

Leave a Reply

