Foodie penpals July 2012

31 Jul
The contents of my foodie penpals box

The contents of my foodie penpals box

My foodie penpal this month is Louise. She tweets as @thelonegourmet and has a blog too!

Foodie penpals was originally organised in America by Lindsay of The Lean Green Bean and the idea was taken up by Carol Anne of This is Rock Salt in the UK.

When Louise contacted me she was full of questions about what I might like to receive…my only stipulations were that I was 6 months pregnant so no lovely cheese and pate etc (although I’m not sure that this would post very well anyway!)

Once again I was not disappointed with my box! Here are the contents:

Baklava

Baklava

Veal Stock

Veal Stock

Homemade Beetroot and Raspberry Marmalade

Homemade Beetroot and Raspberry Marmalade

Instructions to eat my marmalade with meat

Instructions to eat my marmalade with meat

Sumac - an ingredient I'd needed in the past and not been able to source

Sumac – an ingredient I’d needed in the past and not been able to source

Dark chocolate with raspberries

Dark chocolate with raspberries

A cook book

A cook book

The card explaining what is in the box

The card explaining what is in the box

Lovely hand written card which we include in our boxes

Lovely hand written card which we include in our boxes

I was really happy with the contents of the box – the baklava didn’t survive the day and despite the fact that I tried to hide the chocolate in the fridge, it was found by my other half and some pinched that day too!

If you would like to take part in foodiepenpals then click on the button below or the links mentioned earlier.

The Lean Green Bean
3 Responses to “Foodie penpals July 2012”

  1. ediblethings July 31, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    Louise does a great box, I was lucky enough to get her for my first Penpal last month. I know you will especially enjoy that chocolate, it is extraordinary

  2. Rock Salt July 31, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    Beetroot and raspberry marmalade – why didn’t I think of that?! Sounds divine. What a great parcel 🙂

  3. Kay Tea's Cakes July 31, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    Oooh I like the look of your package! The marmalade sounds very interesting.

Leave a Reply

