Improv Challenge July 2012 – Corn and butter

19 Jul
Lemon and cornmeal breakfast muffins

Lemon and cornmeal breakfast muffins

This month I’d been sent a huge lemon by my foodiepenpal Milli that she had grown herself in Spain. I seriously had never seen a lemon that big!

The giant lemon next to a rather large lime!!!

The giant lemon next to a rather large lime!!!

So, I decided that I really wanted to use this huge lemon for something really good!! That’s where the Improv Challenge came in. The Improv Challenge is organised every month by Kristen of Frugal Antics. The 2 ingredients that I needed to use this month was corn and butter and we were allowed to use corn in any form. I decided to make lemon and cornmeal muffins to use up the lemon. Here is the result!

Cornmeal

Cornmeal

I thought the giant lemon would have thick peel, but I was pleasantly surprised!

I thought the giant lemon would have thick peel, but I was pleasantly surprised!

Muffin mix

Muffin mix

Just out of oven

Just out of oven

Delicious served with strawberry jam for breakfast!

Delicious served with strawberry jam for breakfast!

Lemon and Cornmeal Breakfast Muffins

Ingredients

1 and half cups plain flour

half cup of cornmeal

half cup of golden caster sugar

3 tsp baking powder

half tsp salt

zest of one lemon

100g butter, melted and cooled

juice of one lemon

100ml milk

1 egg

Method:

1. Line a muffin tin with muffin cases.

2. Mix all the dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl. Mix all the wet ingredients together in a jug.

3. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix gently with a wooden spoon. Do not beat, the mixture should look lumpy.

4. Split the mixture between the 10 muffin cases – I use an ice cream scoop to easily distribute the mixture.

5. Bake for 15-20 minutes at 180CFan until they are firm to the touch and a cake tester comes out of the muffins clean.



6 Responses to “Improv Challenge July 2012 – Corn and butter”

  1. Melody♪♫ July 19, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    That lemon looks amazing! …as do your muffins — YUM!

  2. Anne@FromMySweetHeart July 20, 2012 at 2:46 am #

    I’ve never seen a lemon that big! But what a perfect way to add brightness to these luscious muffins! : )

  3. Kate | Food Babbles July 20, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    That is one gigantic lemon! And clearly it was destined for greatness. These muffins sound wonderful and like the perfect way to start any day. Yum!

  4. msginge July 20, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    Wow! That`s quite the lemon! I love corn muffins and think adding lemon is genius!

  5. Lisa~~ July 20, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    That lemon is amazing and your muffins sound wonderful too.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my Improv Cooking Challenge entry: Fritos Crusted Pollock.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  6. bakingaitch July 21, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    Thank you for all the comments. I had never seen anything like that lemon before…I thought it was a grapefruit when I just opened the parcel!

Leave a Reply

