Having baby number two

31 May

The first time I was pregnant, I savoured every moment. I was so thrilled to be having a baby. I was 31 and had been trying a while and when at last it happened, I was just blown away. I felt really special despite the fact the women have babies every day – I really couldn’t believe it was happening to me.

March 2009. 9 months and 2 weeks pregnant!

March 2009. 9 months and 2 weeks pregnant!

The whole experience fascinated me; the fact I needed to buy bigger bras at only 9 weeks pregnant and no-one but my nearest and dearest new this amazing secret, the first flutters of movement and then my ever expanding belly.

I soaked in every moment and relished the achy legs and the tiredness. I’d come home from work and fall asleep on the settee. Apart from this I was well! I had no sickness or other common pregnancy ailments. I read the magazines and the catalogues of baby things and hunted for bargains for all the things that I needed. Even when I went way past my due date (15 days in the end) I wasn’t bothered – I loved being pregnant.

Just born

Just born

When Evie was born the fascination just continued. I thought that it was just incredible that my body made all the food that she needed until she was six months old and I savoured the moments that we had when she was a tiny baby. I thought that if this is the only chance that I every get to do this, then I better remember all these moments – the good and the testing!

My gorgeous baby girl

My gorgeous baby girl

And now here I am pregnant again. I’m 22 weeks and I don’t know where the time has gone. I haven’t had a chance to sit and take in the moments and I’m worried that I’m missing the experience. Everyone said that I should make the most of having my first as it would never be the same again and they were so right. This time I am really tired; when you already have a child, there is no having a nap after work, no not being bothered to do anything at all sometimes.

Maybe it’s my age! Time really does fly as you get older. Maybe it’s my profession! As a teacher, my life is cut into chunks – I’m constantly counting down the weeks until the next holiday and now I can just see 1 week half term holiday, a six week half term, a six week holiday, 2 weeks back at work and then it’ll be pretty much my due date. Maybe it’s because I just don’t know when to stop and sit down and stop taking on new things. I’m so worried that I’m going to blink and miss it.

So how do I slow this time down? My first baby is now 3 years old and where the heck has that time gone? I want her to stay little – as much as she is a little monkey, she doesn’t half make me laugh, but she is already losing her innocence and says such grown up things, whether she really knows what they mean or not.

My big girl

My big girl

Of course, I am equally excited at being pregnant this time and can’t wait to welcome our new member of the family, but I’m so worried that I’m going to look back and wonder where my life and my children’s childhood went.

My little monkey!

My little monkey!

8 Responses to “Having baby number two”

  1. loupy lou's blog May 31, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    ahhh you nearly made me cry! clearly i still have baby hormones, 3 months on! and it isnt the same as the first time, but its just as good – just different (and harder!). x

  2. Sue Halliday June 1, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    What a truly heart felt blogg and so true. My youngest daughter left school today, I can’t believe that 16 years have passed, my other daughter is now 20 and I can still hear her cheeky giggle when she was a baby, them years are so prescious but fly by so quickly. Pity we don’t have a pause and rewind button so we can travel back and enjoy them again and again like an old movie on DVD

  3. Kirsty Emmott June 6, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    What a lovely post!!

    Having two children is very different to having one and time does seem to pass even more quickly. However, I found even greater pleasure in the small moments, because they were now shared between more people. Seeing my eldest daughter beaming with pride as she held her little sister was even more special than being proud of her myself, it’s life all the feelings are magnified in some way.

    Hope the rest of your pregnancy is enjoyable x

    • bakingaitch June 6, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

      What a lovely comment. Thank you Kirsty.

  4. thirtybeckons June 9, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    I love this post, I’m definitely experiencing what you did with your first pregnancy – although unfortunately the sickness didn’t bypass me. I was thinking to myself I don’t know how you Beth and Emma are coping being pregnant and already having a child to look after – I’m shattered with just me, Phil and then the step kids at the weekend (thankfully them being teens means they don’t need me for anything and I can come upstairs and go to bed without worrying!)

  5. suzanne January 11, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    So I’m guessing that by now you’ve had your little bundle of fun?! I will read your latest posts to find out what you had. I remember feeling the same about having my second bubba but then went on to have a third and then there really is no time to savour the pregnancy! Hopefully when your eldest is at nursery you will enjoy some precious times with your newborn. Thanks for linking up with Oldies but Goodies this week 🙂

  6. Alice (@mumsmakelists) February 22, 2013 at 10:36 am #

    Thanks so much for linking up to last week’s Friday Baby Shower. This week’s party is now live and would love to see you there – Alice xx

    http://mumsmakelists.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/the-friday-baby-shower-linky-party-2.html

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Phew! Maternity leave has begun! « bakingaitch - September 14, 2012

    […] blogged before about how fast this pregnancy was going and how I wasn’t able to savour every  moment like […]

Leave a Reply

