Popular Craft’s Owl Swap

30 Jan
Owl

Owl

I love an excuse to craft and when I found the website of the new magazine “Popular Crafts” I decided that this was a great excuse for me to craft!

The obvious choice for me as a crocheter was to make an amigurumi owl, and after I’d had a go at a couple of free patterns that I downloaded from various websites, decided that I had to bite the bullet and and buy a pattern. I bought a lovely owl pattern from Stacey Trock’s “Fresh Stitches” etsy site for $5 which worked out at about £3.50 and she emailed it to me in pdf form.

The first owl that I made was slightly wonky, but it only took me a couple of evenings, but my daughter told me in her bossy 2 year old way that I could make another one for “that lady” and that she was going to have this one! Fine!

My second effort was less wonky and I stuffed it a bit fuller and I was pleased with the finished result.

Here’s my first attempt as he grew…

Owl Head

Owl Head

Owl Body

Owl Body

Waiting for stuffing

Waiting for stuffing

And here’s his brother taking shape:

My second owl waiting for his stuffing and his eyes!

My second owl waiting for his stuffing and his eyes!

So here are the two owls before I sent one of them off to his new owner.

The two owls

The two owls

As part of the swap you are to send a bought gift of up to £3 value. I found a little owl with an electric tealight in it in M&S and thought that it was perfect. So today I sent the owls along with a box of chocs to a lady called Sarah-Jane in Scotland.

The finished gift

The finished gift

I hope she likes it and I can’t wait to get my gift back!

2 Responses to “Popular Craft’s Owl Swap”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Popular Craft’s Heart Swap « bakingaitch - February 13, 2012

    […] swap” the theme was hearts. I signed up for it before I had finished my first swap (Owls) and for some reason had the idea that I wanted to make […]

  2. Popular Crafts Magazine Owl Swap Update « bakingaitch - March 8, 2012

    […] blogged already about my make for the Owl Swap that is arranged every month by Popular Crafts Magazine, and now here is the update. Owl swap […]

Leave a Reply

