Roasted Beetroot Pasta Shells

5 Jan

I have been eating up the veg from my Abel and Cole veg box this week, hence the sunshine squash risotto earlier this week. Tonight was the turn of the beetroot!

image

I searched my Abel and Cole recipe book for a beetroot recipe and came up with this beetroot pasta recipe.

I adapted it ever so slightly as follows:

I roasted the beetroot for about an hour and a half in a splash of olive oil the night before so that I had a quick and easy tea when I got home from work.

I put some pasta shells on to cook and then heated some olive oil in a wok. I fried a chopped clove of garlic for 2 minutes on a low heat. I then added the roasted beetroot that I had peeled and chopped and heated it through.

After adding the juice of half a lemon, I added a pot of single cream and heated until hot. I then put in a good handful of grated grana padano cheese.

image

I’m sure that you will agree that the results and quite spectacular to look at and tasted great too!

One Response to “Roasted Beetroot Pasta Shells”

  1. riversidebaking March 11, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

    ooo it’s so pink! Can’t wait to try this!

Leave a Reply

