Simnel Muffins

11 Apr

I had volunteered to make my friend 8 gifts of Simnel Muffins to give to her work colleagues for Easter. I started to look up recipes and ended up combining the ideas from a few different recipes to get the effect I wanted.

One recipe had a nice mix of ingredients, but just said to put all the ingredients in and mix, rather than the usual method of creaming butter and sugar. then adding eggs, then flour and other ingredients. It also suggested that the marzipan goes in the middle of the muffin and then they should be iced when baked and chocolate minieggs stuck on.

Another recipe didn’t appeal to me the same, but instead of being iced they had a circle of marzipan stuck on the top. I liked this idea better so I combined the 2 then wrapped them up with cellophane including a few minieggs and an Easter chick!

See the recipe for Simnel muffins here

Leave a Reply

