Madeleines – Take 1

1 Apr

Since the bakelady set the challenge to make madeleines I’ve had half an eye open to find a madeleine tin. Well, after work I popped into House of Fraser in Huddersfield and lo and behold, I found a silicon madeleine tin that had been reduced from £10 to £4. When I went to pay, there was a further 20% off and it only cost me £3.20.

So after Evie was in bed, I mixed the batter, put it in the fridge and washed up the mould and got ready to see the results…

Vanilla Madeleines

 

I started by giving the silicon tin a wash because they do tend to attract dust!

Silicone Madeleine Tin

 

I found a recipe that was for lemon madeleines, but seeing as I didn’t have a lemon in the house I decided to adapt it to make vanilla flavour ones!

The recipe was very straightforward, I used my cake mixer to whisk the eggs and sugar and soon the batter was ready to be put in the fridge.

Madeleine Batter

 

I was a bit messy, spooning the mixture into the tins but I hoped it wouldn’t matter. I probably would have done better if I had piped it in, but I was too impatient for that!

Madeleine batter in silicone tin

 

The madeleines went in the oven and I dutifully turned the tin round after 5 minutes and lowered the temperature. When they were cooked through I took them out and held my breathe as I hadn’t greased the tin at all. They all fell out beautifully and I was thrilled with the results!

Madeleines just from the oven

Leave a Reply

